Manage Google Groups Mailing Lists
Posting Messages in Google Groups
To send a message, you actually don’t need to log into Google Groups at all. If you’re an authorized sender, all you need to do is send an e-mail to the group e-mail address you were given after the group was created.
Accessing your Group to Manage It
To access your Google Group, you must be signed into your CNU account. Once you are, you can go to groups.google.com. If you prefer, you can get to Groups by clicking the app switcher in any Google app and choosing More. Then, click on Groups.
You’ll be brought to the main Groups page. To access your groups, click My Groups.
You’ll see a list of the groups in which you are a member. You’ll see several that you’re not an administrator of; this is because CNU uses Google Groups for all of our mailing lists.
Group Membership
To edit the membership of a group, click on the group to enter it. Then, select Members from the resulting sidebar
Adding Members
You’ll see a list of everyone in your group. To add new people to your group, click on “Add members”.
Use the resulting dialog box to locate the desired member and add them to the field corresponding to the desired role for that member. The roles include:
Members have no special permissions in the group
Owners have all the permissions that you do. You should have no more than one or two owners per group.
Managers can add or remove users and always post to the group. However, they can’t delete the group or remove owners.
You can also customize the message sent inviting your new members to the group. Once an invite is accepted, the member will appear in the Members list. Click “Add Members” to send invitations to all the selected members.
Changing Members' Roles
You can also change the role of existing members. To do so, open the “Role” dropdown for the given member, and select the desired role.
Controlling whether Users can Post
The members list will include a column labeled “Posting” for each member. Click the dropdown and you will see three levels of posting permissions:
'Not Allowed' means that the user cannot send emails or post to the group.
'Allowed' provides a user with unfettered access to posting to the group.
'Moderated' will allow users to attempt to email or post to the group, but will forward the content to an owner for approval via email. Rejecting a moderated post will prevent it from being sent to the group at large but not send notice to the individual that their post had been rejected.
Removing Members
Removing members is simple. From the Manage Members page, check the box next to the member. The options to Remove (2) or Ban (3) that member will appear; select the desired option to remove the member from the group.